Grief is a natural response to loss. It occurs especially when a loved one is taken away.

The causes of grief may be:

  • loss of health
  • death of a pet
  • a miscarriage
  • a loved one’s serious illness
  • divorce or relationship breakup
  • losing a job

The five stages of grief:

  • denial
  • anger
  • bargaining
  • depression
  • acceptance

The symptoms of grief:

  • shock and disbelief
  • sadness
  • guilt
  • anger
  • fear
  • fatigue
  • nausea
  • lowered immunity
  • weight loss or gain
  • aches and pains
  • insomnia

Ways to cope with grief:

  • talk to friends and family members
  • join a support group
  • talk to a therapist or grief counselor

Keywords: grief, grief+

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.