How Many Stages Does Lymphedema Have?

How many stages does lymphedema have?

Lyphedema can be categorized into four stages:

  • Stage 0
    Although a malfunction of the lymphatic system might have already happened, swelling is not visible yet. Often, people have no symptom at this stage.
  • Stage 1
    Swelling is visible now. When you press the skin, it indents. But you cannot see scarring. If you hold the affected limb high, the symptoms can reduce temporarily.
  • Stage 2
    At stage 2, elevating the limb cannot reduce swelling any longer. You can find moderate to severe scarring.
  • Stage 3
    At this stage, lymphedema is permanent. The affected limbs will be swollen both in size and volume. The skin may even change texture.

Key word: lymphedema stages

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.