How Many Types of Blepharitis?


How many types of blepharitis?


There are mainly two types of blepharitis—anterior blepharitis and posterior.

Anterior blepharitis – affects the outer front part of the eyelid, where the eyelashes are attached. The two most common causes of anterior blepharitis are bacteria (Staphylococcus) and scalp dandruff.

Posterior blepharitis – affects the inner eyelid, in the moist part that makes contact with the eye. This part of the eyelid contains oil glands. Problems with these glands cause posterior blepharitis.

In addition, sometimes people use mixed blepharitis to refer to a combination of both anterior and posterior blepharitis.

Keywords: 2 types blepharitis, 3 blepharitis, 3 types blepharitis

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.