How Many Types of Breast Cancer in Situ?


How many types of breast cancer in situ?


Altogether, there are three types of breast carcinoma, which includes:

  • Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS). DCIS is not invasive. Abnormal cells have not spread outside the breast duct to other tissues of the breast, but can only found in the duct’s lining. Under some circumstances, DCIS can become a kind of cancer that is invasive and can spread to other tissues of the breasts. However, existing technologies still can’t find out which lesions can turn invasive.
  • Lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS). This type of breast carcinoma is seldom invasive and its abnormal cells usually occur in the lobules of the breast. However, a patient who is diagnosed with LCIS is more likely to develop breast cancer in the other breast.
  • Paget disease of the nipple. This type of breast carcinoma is also known as stage 0 breast carcinoma in situ. In this case, abnormal cells are only found in the nipple.


Keywords: breast cancer; breast cancer patient; breast cancer patients; breast cancer+; cancer breast; breast_cancer; carcinoma situ breast; situ breast cancer; situ cancer breast; situ carcinoma breast;



Related FAQs:

What Is Advanced Breast Cancer?

What Is Metastatic Breast Cancer?

How to Treat Metastatic Breast Cancer?

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.