What Are the Stages of Polycystic Kidney Disease?

What are the stages of polycystic kidney disease?

Polycystic kidney disease is a chronic, hereditary kidney disease. It can be divided into five stages according to the illness condition. Knowing what stage you or your beloved one is in will help control the conditions.

1. Asymptomatic stage

Usually symptoms of PKD do not show up before the patient reaches 20 years old. However, with the help of imaging examination, PKD at this stage can be detected.

2. Growth stage

In this period, the patient’s kidneys will be enlarged. Meanwhile, symptoms like high blood pressure, back pain or abdominal pain and other symptoms may begin to show. The emergence of high blood pressure usually indicate that the kidney function has been damaged or is going to be damaged.

3. Renal insufficiency stage

Generally, the serum creatinine level in this period is lower than 442umol/L. Also, other detailed indexes about the creatinine level and the blood urea nitrogen level can be used to define the stage.

4. The stage of rupture

With the function of external causes, if the cysts continue to increase, they will eventually rupture. In this stage, various infections should be prevented.

5. The stage of kidney failure

In this stage, the main point is to slow down the progression of this disease. In general, dialysis or a kidney transplant are always the final choices.Study shows that 5%-10% patients with this disease will develop into kidney failure. It can not only threaten our health but also bring lots of inconvenience to patients.

Keywords: polycystic kidney disease stages, stages polycystic kidney disease.

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.