What Are Rectal Cancer Stages?

What are rectal cancer stages?

There are five stages of rectal cancer, which include Stage 0, Stage I, Stage II, Stage III and Stage IV:

1. Stage 0 Colorectal Cancer

  • The tumor is only on the inner lining of the rectum.

2. Stage I Colorectal Cancer

  • The tumor has broken through the inner lining of the rectum. But it hasn’t gone past the muscular wall.

3. Stage II Colorectal Cancer

  • The tumor has gone all the way through the bowel wall and may now be in other nearby organs, such as the bladder, uterus, or prostate gland.

4. Stage III Colorectal Cancer

  • The tumor has spread to the lymph nodes, which are small structures throughout the body that make and store cells that fight infection.

5. Stage IV Colorectal Cancer

  • Stage IV colorectal cancers have spread to distant parts of the body, such as the liver or the lungs. It is also known as advanced rectal cancer or metastatic rectal cancer.

To learn more you should go to a medical professional.

Keyword: rectal cancer staging

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.