What Are the Different Types of Liver Cancer?

What are the different types of liver cancer?

Different types of cancers are named after the type of cell and part of the body they first begin to grow. This is a primary cancer.

These cells can break away from the primary site and travel to other parts of the body in the blood or lymphatic system. The cells eventually lodge in another body organ and begin to grow there. This is called a secondary cancer.

The different types of primary liver cancer originate from the various cells that make up the liver. The main types of primary liver cancer are:

Hepatocellular carcinoma
Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), also known as hepatoma, is the most common type of liver cancer. This condition develops in the hepatocytes, which are the predominant liver cells. HCC is much more likely to occur in people who have severe liver damage due to alcohol abuse.

Cholangiocarcinoma, more commonly known as bile duct cancer. When the cancer begins in the section of the ducts inside the liver, it’s called intrahepatic bile duct cancer. When the cancer begins in the section of the ducts outside the liver, it’s called extrahepatic bile duct cancer.

Hepatoblastoma is an extremely rare type of liver cancer. It’s nearly always found in children, especially those under age 3.

Liver Angiosarcoma
Liver angiosarcoma is a rare form of liver cancer that begins in the blood vessels of the liver. This type of cancer tends to progress very quickly, so it’s typically diagnosed at a more advanced stage.

Take care for your liver, it is of great importance to your body.

Keyword: types liver cancer

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.