What Are the Four Separate Congenital Heart Defects?


What are the four types of separate congenital heart defects?


These four separate conditions together are called Tetralogy of Fallot.

Classically, there are four types of defects:

  • A ventricular septal defect, a hole between the two ventricles
  • Pulmonary stenosis, narrowing of the exit from the right ventricle
  • Right ventricular hypertrophy, enlargement of the right ventricle
  • An overriding aorta, which allows blood from both ventricles to enter the aorta


What are the causes of TOF?


The cause is typically not known. But the risk factors include a mother who uses alcohol, has diabetes, is over the age of 40, or gets rubella during pregnancy. It may also be associated with Down Syndrome.


Keywords: four separate congenital heart defects



Related FAQ:

Are Congenital Heart Defects Hereditary?

What Is the Most Common Congenital Heart Disease in Children?


* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.