What Are the Seven Stages of Dementia?

What are the seven stages of dementia?

Sorry to say that in most cases, dementia is irreversible and incurable. However, with an early diagnosis and proper care, the symptoms of some dementia can be eased and slowed down.

Generally, the seven stages of dementia and their symptoms are as follows:

Stage 1: No Cognitive Decline

No apparent problems with memory, or any cognitive impairment.

Stage 2: Age Associated Memory Impairment

Occasional loss of memory most frequently seen in forgeting:

  • where one has placed an object
  • names that were once very family

Stage 3: Mild cognitive impairment (MCI)

  • Getting lost easily
  • Noticeably poor performance at work
  • Difficulty retaining information read in a book or passage
  • Losing or misplacing important objects
  • Difficulty concentrating

Stage 4: Mild Dementia

  • Changes in personality and mood
  • Decreased knowledge of current and/or recent events
  • Difficulty remembering things about one’s personal history
  • Decreased ability to handle finances, arrange travel plans, etc.
  • Difficulty recognizing faces and people

Stage 5: Moderate Dementia

  • Need some assistance in order to carry out their daily lives
  • Inability to remember major details such as the name of a close family member or a home address.
  • Confusion about the time and place
  • Forget basic information about themselves, such as a telephone number or address.

Stage 6: Moderately Severe Dementia

  • Forget the names of their children, spouse, or primary caregivers
  • Unaware of their surroundings, cannot recall recent events
  • Delusional behavior
  • Obsessive behavior and symptoms
  • Anxiety, aggression, and agitation
  • Loss of willpower
  • Difficulty in sleeping

Stage 7: Severe Dementia

  • Loss of the ability to speak
  • Need to help the individual with walking, eating, and using the bathroom.
  • Increased susceptibility to infections, such as pneumonia

Finally, people with dementia will progress through these stages at different speeds and with various symptoms. When you suspect you may be experiencing early symptoms of dementia, talk to your doctor.


Keywords: seven stage dementia, stages sundown dementia

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.