What Are the Stages of Lewy body Dementia?

What are the stages of Lewy body dementia?

Lewy body dementia (LBD) is a progressive and degenerative disease of the brain caused by the presence of Lewy bodies. They are abnormal proteins that disrupt communication among brain cells.

In general, there are two main types of LBD: dementia with Lewy bodies and Parkinson’s disease dementia.
Symptoms of LBD can fluctuate but usually become progressively worse over time.

Early symptoms:
fluctuations between normal and abnormal behavior, mood, and cognitive ability.

Central stage:
deficits in attention and minor dysfunctions in the early stages that can progress to severe dementia.

Severe dementia:

  • inability to carry out normal daily functions
  • loss of recognition of family members, such as don’t remember their names
  • severe cognitive, behavior and mood problems
  • visual hallucinations
  • features of Parkinsonism such as body stiffness, tremors, shuffling gait, emotionless facial features and decreased coordination

However, the exact cause of LBD is unknown. But it is sure that early diagnosis and treatment can ease the symptoms and slow the deterioration.


Keywords: stages lewy body dementia

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.