What Are the Stages of Pulmonary Fibrosis?

What are the stages of pulmonary fibrosis?

Pulmonary fibrosis is a lung disease that occurs when scars form in the lung. It is a progressive disease and can cause serious breathing problems. Pulmonary fibrosis worsens over time, but the speed of progression is hard to predict. There isn’t a formal stage pattern for the disease, but your doctor will know the severity of the disease according to some factors and tests.

Pulmonary Function Tests are a common way to test the severity of pulmonary fibrosis. The most basic test is spirometry. It can test the amount of air that is exhaled starting from a maximal inhalation, which called forced vital capacity (FVC). According to the result of FVC, your doctor can determine the pulmonary fibrosis is mild, moderate, severe or very severe.

In general, the normal FVC is 80% predicted or above, but the FVC predicted of pulmonary fibrosis patients may be:

  • Mild: more than 75%.
  • Moderate: 50% – 75%.
  • Severe: 25% – 49%.
  • Very severe: less than 25%.

Keywords: pulmonary fibrosis stages; stages pulmonary fibrosis

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.