What Are the Types and Early Signs of Glaucoma?

How many types of glaucoma are there?

Glaucoma refers to a group of eye diseases that may cause damage to eyes. There are five types of glaucoma.

  • Congenital glaucoma: It is a kind of glaucoma that happens to newborns or babies in the first few years. If a child has congenital glaucoma, his/her corneas will be cloudy. If the disease is not treated immediately, the child may lose vision.
  • Open-angle glaucoma: It is the most common form of the disease. It occurs when there is too much pressure in your eyes because of the blocked trabecular meshwork.
  • Angle-closure glaucoma: It is also called closed-angle glaucoma. It often occurs when the iris bulges narrow or block the drainage angle in your eyes.
  • Normal-tension glaucoma: It occurs when your optic nerve is damaged and there is no exact reason for the damage.
  • Pigmentary glaucoma: It occurs when pigment granules on your iris block fluid exiting your eye.

What are the early signs of glaucoma?

Early signs of glaucoma include:

  • Sensitivity to light.
  • Tear up all the time.
  • A larger cornea.
  • Cloudy on cornea.
  • Rub eyes or keep the eyes closed much of the time.
  • Severe eye pain.
  • Nausea or vomiting.
  • Hazy vision.
  • Redness in the white part of the eye.

Keywords: types glaucoma; early signs glaucoma; early stages glaucoma; early symptoms glaucoma; glaucoma early symptoms; symptoms glaucoma early

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.