What Are the Types of Bladder Cancer?

Transitional cell (urothelial) carcinoma (TCC) is the most common type of bladder cancer. It accounts for around 95% of bladder cancers. The appearance of cancer cells in this type is like the urothelial cells lining the inside of the bladder. It can be divided into two subtypes

Papillary carcinoma: It grows out from the inner surface of the bladder toward the hallow center. This type is also known as noninvasive papillary cancer, because it does not spread to deeper layers of the bladder covering. When in low grade, the outcome is often good.

Flat carcinomas: In this type, cancer cells remain on the surface of the bladder wall. Being restricted to urothelium, the cancer is called “noninvasive flat carcinoma” or “flat carcinoma in situ.”

Other types of bladder cancer include squamous cell carcinoma, adenocarcinoma, small-cell carcinoma, and sarcoma.


Keywords: carcinoma bladder



Related FAQs:

What’s the Survival Rate of Advanced Bladder Cancer?

What Are the Causes of Bladder Cancer?

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.