What Are the Types of Cardiomyopathy?


How many types of cardiomyopathy are there?


There are three main types of cardiomyopathy, dilated cardiomyopathy, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, restrictive cardiomyopathy.

Dilated cardiomyopathy

Dilated cardiomyopathy is the most common type of the disease. In this type, the pumping ability of your heart is weakened. The left ventricle becomes enlarged (dilated), so it is less forceful and can’t effectively pump blood out of your heart.

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy

In hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, your heart muscle is abnormally thickened. It affects your left ventricle, the main pumping chamber, therefore making it difficult for your heart to pump blood. This type can develop at any age.

Restrictive cardiomyopathy

If a person has restricted cardiomyopathy, his heart muscle is rigid and less elastic. It means that his heart is unable to expand properly. It is the least common type of cardiomyopathy in the three main types and it most often affects old people.

There are other types of the disease, such as arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia and takotsubo cardiomyopathy (broken heart syndrome).


Keywords: cardiomyopathy types; types cardiomyopathy



Related FAQs:

What’s the Diagnosis of Cardiomyopathy?


How to Treat Cardiomyopathy?

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.