What Are the Types of Cervical Cancer?


I have cervical cancer but I don’t know which type my cancer belongs to. What are the types of cervical cancer?


The case of every cervical cancer patient is different. If you go to hospital, your doctor will properly diagnose and stage your condition. After that, he will tailor a treatment plan according to your specific type.

Cervical cancers are divided into two main types: squamous cell carcinoma and adenocarcinoma. They can be differentiated from each other by the appearance of cancer cells under a microscope.

Squamous cell carcinoma is the more common type of cervical cancer. It begins developing in the thin, flat cells which line the bottom of the cervix. 85% – 90% of cervical cancers are actually squamous cell carcinomas.

Adenocarcinomas come into being from the glandular cells that line the upper portion of the cervix. This type accounts for 15% to 20% of cervical cancers.

In some cases, squamous cell carcinoma and adenocarcinoma can coexist in a person with cervical cancer. And this is the third type of the cancer.


Keywords: cervical cancer types; types cervical cancer



Related FAQs;

What Is Adenocarcinoma of Cervix?

What’s the Diagnosis of Cervical Cancer?

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.