What Is CIN?


What does CIN refer to in cervical cancer?


There are two different types of abnormal cervical cancer cells. The inside of the cervix is lined by glandular cells, and the outside squamous cells. When Squamous cells become abnormal, the abnormality is called CIN, which is the abbreviation of Cervical Intra-epithelial Neoplasia. It means that abnormal cells are found on the surface of the cervix. The other type is known as CGIN, which refers to abnormality detected in the inner part of the cervix. However, the former type, CIN, is much more common to develop.

To explain how far the abnormal cells have spread into the surface layer of the cervix, CIN is divided into several grades. It is classified from CIN 1 to CIN 3.

CIN 1: The changes in cells are mild. They only affect 1/3 of the thickness of the surface. They are not cancer and mostly will not turn into cancer.

CIN 2: The changes are moderate. They affect 2/3 of the thickness of the cervical surface.

CIN 3: The abnormality is more severe, but it is not cancerous. It affects the full thickness of the surface.


Keywords: cin1 cervical cancer; cin3 cervical cancer




Related FAQs:

What Should I Know About Cervical Biopsy?

What Are the Symptoms of Advanced Cervical Cancer?


How to Prevent Cervical Cancer?

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.