What Is Frontotemporal Dementia and What Are Stages of It?



What is frontotemporal dementia?

Frontotemporal dementia, also known as frontal lobe dementia, is a grouping of uncommon disorders that primarily affect the frontal and temporal lobes of the brain – the areas generally associated with personality, behavior and language.


What are stages of frontotemporal dementia?

There are seven stages of vascular dementia:

  • First Stage – Patients experience no signs or symptoms of the disease
  • Second Stage – There is very mild mental decline marked by forgetfulness
  • Third Stage – The forgetfulness increases and it is accompanied by concentration problems and decreased work performance
  • Fourth Stage – Patients may start forgetting about recent events. They may also have problems managing finances or travelling alone
  • Fifth Stage – Patients suffer from drastic cases of memory loss and need to be assisted in carrying out daily activities
  • Sixth Stage – Patients fail to recognize their loved ones and suffers from slurred speech. There are also delusions, agitation and anxiety
  • Seventh Stage – Patients lose the ability to move, communicate or carry out activities by themselves

To learn more you should go to a medical professional.

Keyword: frontotemporal dementia; frontal lobe dementia; frontal lobe dementia stages

* The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.